Seven mountains, seven kings


Extracts and comments from Revelation Chp. 17:9 & 10




(a)Here is the mind which has wisdom.  The seven heads are seven mountains, on which the woman sitteth.

(a)  “Seven heads are seven mountains”;  (see V.10, 11 & 12).





(a)And they are seven kings:  five are fallen, one is, (b)and the other is not yet come; and when he comes, he must continue a short space.

(a)Remembering that the criterion in prophecy in our opinion is when Israel is affected, and not "Lo-Ammi",  Daniel 7  gives the likely understanding of the 7 kings listed;

—    1) Babylon, (Lion ) (one king). 

—    2) Medes &Persians, (Bear )  (two kings). 

—    3) Greece, (Leopard ) ( 2 kings), 330B.C.-167B.C.  Ptolemies & Seleucids, 167B.C. - 63B.C.  Hasmoneans & Maccabees.

—    4) Rev. 17:10, "one is",  Rome, (one king).  This at the time of John's writing.


(b)"The other is not yet come"; this seventh king cannot exist in power until Israel is again "Ammi", in the sense of Divine Prophecy, i.e. at the "covenant" stage of Dan. 9:27.

Charles Welch, in his book ‘This Prophecy’ page 206; points to Dan. 7, and the above empires.  There, Greece is shown to have ‘four heads,’ (Dan. 7:6), and Medo – Persia one.

That therefore shows the Ptolemies and Seleucids as two; and the Hasmoreans and Maccabees as two, which corresponds with the split of Alexander’s empire into four, after his death, (see: 13:8 and notes).


If you have questions or comments, please click here.

Or go to chapters 1 to 22  or

Subjectindex  or